Chizi 10year Tribute Concert

What’s good people?! I sincerely apologize for not posting here for a long long time. But I’m back and that’s what matters 😀

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of attending Dan ‘Chizi’ Aceda’s concert to mark 10 years of his music. It was quite well attended and from the looks of things quite well organized as well. I had only slight misgivings with the lighting from a photographer’s point of view but I suspect it’s about time for me to upgrade my kit anyway. Buddha blaze was the MC for the night and I must say he did a great job of keeping the crowd entertained between the acts. Monique was first on stage. She’s relatively new on the Kenyan music scene but boy does she have a voice! You can see more of her on Mutua Matheka’s blog (he did the photo for her album cover) and you should go buy yourself a copy of her album. I can promise you it will be one of the best purchases you make this year.

Chris Adwar took the stage next. What he did was a tad fantastic. He had a machine that recorded and played back his voice as he sang. He slowly built the song, one voice at a time till it was a full harmony. I quite enjoyed how he has fused technology into his music. In my honest opinion, he is undoubtedly one of the best musicians in the country right now.

After him, the main act for the evening came up on stage. Chizi and his band thrilled the crowd with hit after hit for the better part of 2 hours. The songs spanned Chizi’s music career and along the way, he brought the house down with hilarious anecdotes about his life and his music over the past 10 years.

All in all, the gig was one of the best I have attended this year. I haven’t yet seen anyone who performs with as much energy on stage as Chizi did last night. As a plus, I got a shot of some fans smiling after gig 😀

Do enjoy the gallery and slideshow below 😀 I will catch you cool cats later.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Would you like to tell me something?

